Home / University / About the University of Dhaka | History and Ranking

About the University of Dhaka | History and Ranking

The University of Dhaka the very first and the largest public university of Bangladesh was founded by Syed Nawab Ali Chowdhury. It’s students and teachers played a central role in the language movement of 1952 and the rise of Bengali nationalism and the independence of Bangladesh.

Dhaka University Curzon Hall

Academic activities of the University of Dhaka started on 1 July 1921 with 847 students along with 3 faculties: Arts, Science and Law; 12 departments: Sanskrit and Bengali, English, Education, History, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Persian and Urdu, Philosophy, Economics and Politics, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, and Law; and 3 dormitories: Salimullah Muslim Hall, Dacca Hall and Jagannath Hall. Sir Phillip Joseph Hartog was the first vice-chancellor of the university in British Raj.


Present Rank Position of DU

The Center for World University Rankings (CWUR) Recently published largest academic ranking of global universities. According to them,

World Rank1794
National Rank1
Research Performance Rank1715
Overall Score66.6

The Central Shaheed Minar

Now, Abdul Hamid is the President of Bangladesh is the chancellor of the University of Dhaka and the vice-chancellor is Md. Akhtaruzzaman. It is the largest public, university in Bangladesh along with thirty thousand students. This university has a huge campus with 600 acres of land. This university consists of 13 faculties and 83 departments. The faculty of Social Sciences is the largest faculty with 16 departments. The Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences is the smallest faculty along with 5 departments. There are 15 other institutes under the University of Dhaka  and also 7 colleges under this university. There are 23 residence halls for the students and dormitories for the teachers and as well as for the officials of the university.


Vice-Chancellors of the University Since 1921

Sir. P.J. Hartog (1st)01.12.1920-31.12.1925
Professor G.H.Langley (2nd)01.01.1926-30.06.1934
Sir. A. F. Rahman (3rd)01.07.1934-31.12.1936
Dr. R. C. Majumder (4th)01.01.1937-30.06.1942
Dr. Mahmud Hasan (5th)01.07.1942-21.10.1948
Dr. S. M. Hossain (6th)22.10.1948-08.11.1953
Dr. W.A.Jenkins (7th)09.11.1953-08.11.1956
Justice Muhammad Ibrahim (8th)09.11.1956-27.10.1958
Justice Hamoodur Rahman (9th)05.11.1958-14.12.1960
Dr. Mahmud Husain (10th)15.12.1960-19.02.1963
Dr. Md. Osman Ghani (11th)20.02.1963-01.12.1969
Justice Abu Syed Chowdhury (12th)02.12.1969-20.01.1972
Dr. Muzaffar Ahmed Chowdhury (13th)21.01.1972-12.04.1973
Dr Abdul Matin Chaudhury (14th)13.04.1973-22.09.1975
Professor Muhammad Shams-ul Huq (15th)23.09.1975-01.02.1976
Dr. Fazlul Halim Chowdhury (16th)02.02.1976-20.03.1983
Dr.A.K.M.Siddiq (17th)21.03.1983-16.08.1983
Dr. Md. Shamsul Huq (18th)17.08.1983-12.01.1986
Professor Abdul Mannan (19th)12.01.1986-22.03.1990
Professor M. Maniruzzaman Miah (20th)24.03.1990-31.10.1992
Professor Emajuddin Ahamed (21th)01.11.1992-31.08.1996
Professor Shahid Uddin Ahmad (22th)31.08.1996-29.09.1996
Professor A. K. Azad Chowdhury (23th)30.09.1996-12.11.2001
Professor Anwarullah Chowdhury (24th)12.11.2001 -31.07.2002
Professor A.F.M. Yusuf Haider (25th)01.08.2002-23.09.2002
Professor S. M. A. Faiz (26th)23.09.2002-16.01.2009
Professor A A M S Arefin Siddique (27th)17.01.2009-05.09.2017
Professor Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman (28th)Since 06.09.2017-


The University of Dhaka has a very enriched library that holds a collection of other than 61,700 volumes, including bound volumes of periodicals and has a collection of over 30,000 manuscripts in other languages. It subscribes to over 300 foreign journals.

 This university has a medical center that provides service round the clock, seven days a week, with 30 doctors working in shifts. The center has a dental unit, eye unit, X-ray department, and two ambulances.

Raju Memorial Sculpture

There are cafeterias on university campus, some of which hold historical and architectural interest. The Teacher-Students Center (TSC) has its own cafeteria. The faculty of business studies has it’s own modern food court for it’s students.

Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU) is the official students’ union of the University of Dhaka. It was established in the academic year of 1922-23 as Dhaka University Student Union. Since then it is working for the betterment of the students.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman the undisputed leader and the father of the nation, our honourable prime minister Sheikh Hasina, Dr. Muhammad Yonus the only Nobel prize winner of Bangladesh and also Satyendra Nath Bose Abdus Sattar Khan, Dr. Muhammad Shahidullah, Abdullah Al Muti, Abdul Fateh, Leela Roy are one of the notable scholars and politicians of world history who were graduated from University of Dhaka.


Dhaka University at a glance

ChancellorPresident Abdul Hamid
Vice-Chancellor (Present)Md. Akhtaruzzaman
Vice-Chancellor (First)Sir. P.J. Hartog
Research Bureaus and Centres56
Residential Halls20
PhDs Researchers1201
MPhils Researchers1956
Land Area275.083 acres


—Iffat Choudhury

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *